Inaugural FilAm creative film festival to light up Los Angeles

Los Angeles – The City of Angels is about to witness cinematic history as the inaugural FilAm Creative Film Festival (FACFF) takes center stage. Scheduled for November 3rd, 2023,this red carpet event marks a significant milestone in the Filipino community, as Los Angeles hosts anannual film festival of this caliber for the very first time. The festival is proudly presented by FilAmCreative, a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization with a remarkable 13-year legacy of supporting FilipinoAmerican and AAPI artists.

The FACFF promises an exciting lineup, including a Warner Brother’s Panel, the Birns & SawyerFilmmaker Grant, and a state-of-the-art multimedia film titled “Mahal,” created in partnership with Meta.Adding to the festival’s prestige is the presence of the Philippines’ most decorated filmmaker of all time,Brillante Mendoza. Dean Devlin’s Electric Entertainment is a major sponsor.

The support of local and international media partners, including ABS CBN, the Philippines’ largest mediaconglomerate, further underscores the significance of the festival. Just weeks prior to thisgroundbreaking event, FilAm Creative partnered with Philippines’ #1 movie star, Kathryn Bernardo, andDolly DeLeon, the first Filipina actress ever to be nominated for a Golden Globe.

Since its inception in 2010, FilAm Creative has aimed to expand its diverse and high-qualityprogramming by adding a Film Festival to its repertoire. This move reflects the organization’s unwaveringcommitment to advancing and empowering Filipino-Americans and AAPI individuals in the world ofmedia and entertainment. Ed Mallilin, FilAm Creative Board of Directors Representative, highlights theorganization’s vision, stating, “By providing educational and community-oriented programming andresources, FilAm Creative aims to encourage and create leaders who share their vision.” The festival’snew Head, Jennielyn Abrot, Owner/Producer of JAR Entertainment, is poised to lead this dynamicinitiative.

FACFF proudly announces the esteemed 2023 Jurors who will play a vital role in shaping the festival’snarrative. Leading the panel is Yong Chavez, an award-winning Hollywood correspondent and a votingmember of the Golden Globes, with a wealth of experience serving as a juror and jury president invarious award shows and film festivals.

The 2023 FACFF Jury Members include:

Abdul Mallik Abbott, Award-winning Director and Producer

Loren Albento, Talent Manager/Producer, LBI Entertainment

Ted Benito, Former Executive Director of the Foundation International

Tey Clamor, Award-winning Cinematographer based in Manila, Philippines


Leah Anova, Birns & Sawyer (Co-President)

Randall Kamradt, Jr., FilAm Creative (Co-President)

Drea Castro, “Baldy for the Blind”

Joe Johnson, Birns & Sawyer

Malou Kamradt, FilAm Creative

Grace Ann Moss, Warner Bros. Discovery

Bianca Nepales, Lionsgate

Christian Rodriguez, AAO Entertainment

Lyra Tan, The Gersh Agency

James Arcega Tinsley, “Mayor of Kingstown”

Jev Valles, 42 Management (formerly at UTA)

Ken Zheng, Sun and Moon Films

In an exciting collaboration, the festival has partnered with Birns & Sawyer to introduce the Birns &Sawyer / FilAm Creative Film Festival Grant. Launched on August 26, 2023, this grant will support emerging filmmakers. The grant winner will be unveiled during the festival’s awards gala on November 5, 2023.

For tickets and additional information, please visit For media inquiries, kindly [email protected], attention Jen Abrot.

Don’t miss this historic event, which promises to illuminate the world of Filipino and AAPIstorytelling in film. Join us for a weekend of cinematic brilliance, celebration, and community empowerment at the FilAm Creative Film Festival.

The 2023 FACFF Jury Members include (contd):

Lea Dizon, Development Head, ABS-CBN Production International Studios

Michele Josue, Emmy Award-winning Fil-Am Director

Randal Kamradt Jr., Fil-Am Writer and Director

Marc Anthony Nicolas, Emmy Award-winning Producer

Marie Rouhban, Director

Dane Allen Smith, Creative Producer specializing in digital media

The Filipino-American Community Newspaper. Your News. Your Community. Your Journal. Since 1991.

Copyright © 1991-2024 Asian Journal Media Group.
All Rights Reserved.