List for Urian nominees revealed, John Lloyd Cruz gets 2 Best Actor nods

THE nominees for the 39th Gawad Urian have been announced and John Lloyd Cruz heads the list under the Best Actor category with two nominations. The actor is nominated for lead roles in his films “A Second Chance” and “Honor Thy Father.”

“A Second Chance” is the sequel to the 2007 film, “One More Chance.” Both films starred John Lloyd and actress Bea Alonzo, directed by Cathy Garcia Molina, and follows the love story of the characters Popoy and Basha.  “A Second Chance” was a box office success immediately after its release in the Philippines, earning P43 million in its opening day. It became the highest grossing Filipino film of all time when it earned more than P 556 million worldwide.

John Lloyd steps away from his good boy characters in the film, “Honor Thy Father,” directed by Erik Matti. The film is about a family who find themselves in a Ponzi scheme. The actor plays Edgar, the head of the family who along with his wife, Kaye (played by actress Meryll Soriano), seek to pay their family’s debt to their co-parishioners.  The film has also been screened in the Contemporary World Cinema section of the 2015 Toronto International Film Festival.

Also in the running for Best Actor is John Arcilla, for his performance in the critically acclaimed movie, “Heneral Luna.”

Leading the Best Actress nominees is the Philippines’ one and only Superstar, Nora Aunor for her performance in the movie, “Taklub.”

Here’s a partial list of nominees:

Best Picture

“Heneral Luna” – Artikulo Productions

“Taklub” – Centerstage Productions

“Anino sa Likod ng Buwan” – Octobertrain Films, IdeaFirst Company

“Honor Thy Father” – Reality Entertainment

“Imbisibol” – Sinag Maynila, Solar Entertainment

“ARI: My Life with a King” – Holy Angel University for Kapampangan Studies

“Bambanti” – Solar Entertainment, Centerstage Productions, Sinag Maynila

“Da Dog Show” – Sans Cinema, Germany & Queen B Production

Best Director

Ralston Jover, “Da Dog Show”

Jerrold Tarog, “Heneral Luna”

Brilliante Mendoza, “Taklub”

Jun Lana, “Anino sa LIkod ng Buwan”

Erik Matti, “Honor Thy Father”

Lawrence Fajardo, “Imbisibol”

Carlo Enciso Catu, “ARI: My Life with a King”

Zig Madamba Dulay, “Bambanti”

Mario Cornejo, “Apocalypse Child”

Kidlat Tahimik, “Balikbayan #1: Memories of Overdevelopment Redux III

Best Actor

John Arcilla, “Heneral Luna”

John Lloyd Cruz, “Honor Thy Father”

John Lloyd Cruz, “A Second Chance”

Ricky Davao, “Dayang Asu”

Jericho Rosales, “Walang Forever”

Dennis Trillo, “Felix Manalo”

Sid Lucero, “Apocalypse Child”

Jun Jun Quintana, “Water Lemon”

Luis Alandy, “Anino sa Likod ng Buwan”

Anthony Falcon, “Anino sa LIkod ng Buwan”

Francisco Guinto, “ARI: My LIfe with a King”

Lou Veloso, “Da Dog Show”

Best Actress

Nora Aunor, “Taklub”

Anika Dolonius, “Apocalypse Child”

LJ Reyes, “Anino sa LIkod ng Buwan”

Angeli Bayani, “lisa”

Alessandra de Rossi, “Bambanti”

Jennilyn Mercado, “Walang Forever”

Mercedes Cabral, “Da Dog Show”

Supporting Actor

Julio Diaz, “Taklub”

Lou Veloso, “Taklub”

Tirso Cruz III, “Honor Thy Father”

JM de Guzman, “Imbisibol”

Bernardo Bernardo, “ Imbisibol”

Micko Laurente, “Bambanti”

RK Bagatsing, “Apocalypse Child”

Alion Ibanez, “Da Dog Show”

Supporting Actress

Rio Locsin, “Iisa”

Anna Abad Santos, “Apocalypse Child”

Gwen Zamora, “Apocalypse Child”

Mylene Dizon, “Heneral Luna”

Tessie Tomas, “Water Lemon”

Liza Dinio, “Toto”

Cecil Yumol, “ARI: My Life with a King”

The awards night will be on June 21 at the Kia Theater.

The Filipino-American Community Newspaper. Your News. Your Community. Your Journal. Since 1991.

Copyright © 1991-2024 Asian Journal Media Group.
All Rights Reserved.