Kalayaan Incorporated hosts the 124th anniversary celebration of the proclamation of Philippine Independence Day on June 11, 2022

PLEASE join Kalayaan Incorporated President Vicky Perez De Leon and the 2021-2022 Board of Directors in the 124th Anniversary Celebration of the Proclamation of Philippine Independence to be held on Saturday, June 11, 2022 at the Hyatt Regency Orange County, 11999 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, California.

This will be the first in-person gathering to commemorate the anniversary of the proclamation of Philippine Independence Day since the pandemic.  The 2020 celebration was cancelled, and the 2021 festivities were hosted virtually.  Traditionally, this annual celebration is a major fundraising event for Kalayaan Incorporated, a 501c3 California nonprofit corporation.  Since 2005, Kalayaan Incorporated has donated in various charitable projects. During the recent calamities that devastated regions of the Philippines, Kalayaan Incorporated most recently partnered with Filipino American community organizations including United Specialist Healthcare Foundation (USHF), and the Association of Calambenos of Southern California (ACASCA).

“Araw ng Kalayaan is a very precious day in the lives of our forefathers and for us… It is but fitting and proper to give honor to the men and women, our Pilipino patriots, in the form of a gala celebration on June 11,2022. Kalayaan Incorporated as usual is spearheading this momentous gala event. I am very hopeful that our kababayans will join us in this yearly and significant Independence Day Celebration,” says President De Leon.

This special event will feature Honorable Edgardo B. Badajos, the Philippine Consul General of Los Angeles as our keynote speaker.  Our inspirational speaker is Filipino-American Jessica Cox who is world renowned as the first licensed armless pilot.

According to Kalayaan Incorporated President-Elect Erlinda Granada-Sabah who secured this year’s  inspirational speaker, “Per Jessica Cox, disability does not mean inability…  Let’s meet her and be inspired.”

One of the main staples of the annual Independence Day celebration is the presentation of “Mga Dilag.”  Past President Lydia Soriano who chairs the 2022 Dilag Selection Committee looks forward to the community-wide search for the Mutya ng Kalayaan, Binibining Kalayaan and Ginang Kalayaan.  They serve as Ambassadors of Goodwill for the organization.

For more information on sponsorship and to purchase tickets, please contact Vicky Perez De Leon, President at (818) 648-3493.

You may also reach out to any of the Kalayaan Incorporated Executive Officers, regular Board of Directors and Ex-Officios to purchase your tickets. The 2021-2022 Kalayaan Board of Directors is composed of the upstanding Filipino American leaders in the community. The Executive Officers are Victoria Perez De Leon (President/Chair), Erlinda Granada-Sabah (Vice President/Vice Chair), Lynda Joco (Secretary), Marie Florentina Navarro (Assistant Secretary), Susana De Guzman (Treasurer), Malou Perez (Assistant Treasurer), Raul Purification (Auditor), Reddy Babasa-Thompson (Assistant Auditor), and Ethel G. Rubio and Rosalie Caratao are the Press Relations Officers.  The Regular Board members include Lolita Bandong, Arnold Bejasa, Nonie Belarmino, Archerie G. Calunod, Christine Consunji, Rachel Gaston, Aida Jugo, Paul Mirador, Peter Ramirez, and Bituin Villanueva.  The Past Chairs/ Ex-Officios that complete the 2021-2022 Kalayaan Board includes Lucy Barbaran (2005), Lydia F. Soriano (2007), Noel Omega (2008), Leo Maranan (2009) Gil Mislang † (2010), Antero L. Pagunsan (2012), Teresita Emperador (2013), Joveno De La Vega (2014), Zenaida P. Sabocor (2015), Josie E. De Jesus (2016), Susan Dilkes † (2018), Annie Cuevas-Lim (2019), Lydia V. Solis (2020) and Lady Hope Robillos (2021).

For inquiries, please contact:

Ethel G. Rubio

Press Relations Officer, Kalayaan Incorporated

Mobile: (818) 640-2946

Email: ethelrubio27@gmail.com

FaceBook Page:  https://www.facebook.com/kalayaanincorporated

The Filipino-American Community Newspaper. Your News. Your Community. Your Journal. Since 1991.

Copyright © 1991-2023 Asian Journal Media Group.
All Rights Reserved.